Yes, I feed my children poison!

 *Please note that these are my personal opinions. I am not trying to offend anyone.

Vegan. Gluten Free. Dairy Free. Grass Fed. Cage Free. Paleo. Almond Milk. Organic. GMO Free.

WHAT IN THE WORLD????

I happen to be a country girl, born and raised. My momma fed me fried potatoes, gravy, Hamburger Helper, and tuna from a can. My great grandma allowed me to eat butter from the dish and pig brains with scrambled eggs. And you know what? My brain did not rot. I did not grow a third arm. And I hit puberty at a natural age.  I will not dare call myself normal, because let’s face it, what is normal?

If you are like me, you are so tired of Dr. Oz and all TV shows like this that are telling us that we are poisoning our bodies. I know that God gave me teeth that can tear through meat and a belly that can digest plants.

I will admit that I do try to eat healthy. However, my kind of healthy. I try to get a lot of protein, I watch my calories, I try to eat my recommended veggies and I avoid deep-fried food as much as possible. Recently, I have tried to drink more water and eat less sweets. However, this is a struggle! I really have a hard time understanding all of these fad diets. One day you are not allowed to drink wine and the next day red wine is considered to be heart healthy. Who knows?

When it comes to my children. Ha! Ha! Ha! 

Moms and caregivers let’s stop trying to impress one another with our fancy schmancy meals. Give that starving kid a chicken nugget and call it a day. I tried to feed my kids “healthy” foods. I made my own chicken nuggets, I steamed veggies, I spent hours chopping veggies into tiny pieces and making my own baby food, and only bought organic fruits and veggies. I even went to the farmer’s market and got cage free eggs and farm raised beef. And you know what my kids did to this food? Well they learned how to gracefully throw it on the floor. Steamed veggies became hair treatments. Eggs became weapons of mass destruction. I was wasting money on expensive food and it was being treated like the“regular” food that came from the normal, resonably priced grocery store.

Also, in order for my kids to actually eat I had to give them what tasted good to them. I do not make special meals for them at dinner. They eat what we eat. However, if I know that I would have hated it as a kid I do not expect my kid to like it. So, I try to season my food a little less, offer them a variety, and hope for the best. Breakfast and lunch time are the meals that I make especially for them. They get to eat processed foods, drink inorganic milk or juice, and enjoy all the fruit they want.  I even stop at those forbidden fast food restaurants when needed. Let’s face it, sometimes you need to do what you need to do.

 I am a normal mom living in a culture that relies on what is trendy and fads to determine what I should eat. However, I think I will stick to what I know and what I like. I still have not grown that third arm and either have my kids…yet.

3 thoughts on “Yes, I feed my children poison!

  1. I hear you! I also try to give the best possible to my 7 months old baby boy, but sometimes I just think twice about it. I eat normal food and I need to think about how much I spend on it, because money is, unfortunately, a problem and I believe that is also the main reason a lot of people do not go for organic food or any other “healthier” type. If the organic option was more accessible to my wallet, I would definitely go for it 100%. But the truth is, I can’t live 100% according with my wishes, but instead I need to think what is on my wallet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

